Another hidden test menu - Lincoln MKZ Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-08-2013, 06:50 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Another hidden test menu

By searching the Internet I found another hidden test menu. This time it's part of the cars built in display and not the MFT Sync.

1) car completely off
2) foot on brake and hold it there
3) left thumb on the left OK button and hold it there
4) push and hold the start button

In about 3 seconds the left side of the cars display will say engineering test.

5) now let go of the OK, start, and brake

You can use the up or down arrow to cycle thru the tests

6) push and hold the OK button to get out of the test mode
Darrink1 is offline  
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-09-2013, 10:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
What does it let you do? What are the options in the hidden test menu? Just curious since I don't have an MKZ of my own as yet.



MKZFan is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-09-2013, 04:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Its good to know these menu exist but i would not play with them. These are probably for the techs to use when making certain adjustments or updating.
Vendetta is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-10-2013, 12:58 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
doesn't appear that you can change anything.
you can see what version of code you have.
you can see numerical values of the analog gauges and A/D values and digital inputs (1's and 0's) that the computer is seeing. This is strictly engineering stuff.
Darrink1 is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-10-2013, 06:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darrink1 View Post
doesn't appear that you can change anything.
you can see what version of code you have.
you can see numerical values of the analog gauges and A/D values and digital inputs (1's and 0's) that the computer is seeing. This is strictly engineering stuff.
So all you can do is look? Can't make any changes or access things you never could?



MKZFan is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-11-2013, 10:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
no its a diagnostic tool. no changes. what would you want to change about the value of inputs? o.0



golfball is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-11-2013, 11:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thats exactly what I was thinking no need to tamper with the values.
Vendetta is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-11-2013, 06:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Yea you don't need to mess with anything, it's pointless unless you're some tech at Lincoln that actually knows what they're doing.
RothC is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome