Internet Data Connection - Lincoln MKZ Forum
User Tag List

 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #1 of 34 (permalink) Old 10-31-2013, 12:41 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
R2D2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Palm Coast FL
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Internet Data Connection

OK when I bought my 2013 MKZ, I admit I did not own a smart phone

I finally upgraded yesterday to a Samsung Galaxy Rugby Pro and attemted to make the vehicle a hot spot or any type of Internet Data Connection and after an hour finalled called Sync support.

They told me that they are having an issue with all Lincoln MKZs with all smartphones.

I'm surprised that no one else here has posted this type of problem and would love to hear if someone has this working

BTW the Samsung is an 'Android" type OS, if that makes any difference.

What say yo'all??
R2D2 is offline  
post #2 of 34 (permalink) Old 10-31-2013, 06:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
I don't own an MKZ as yet and cant comment on this but have you tried speaking to the guys at the dealership you bought it from to see what they can do?
MKZFan is offline  
post #3 of 34 (permalink) Old 11-01-2013, 12:34 PM
zep
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by R2D2 View Post
OK when I bought my 2013 MKZ, I admit I did not own a smart phone

I finally upgraded yesterday to a Samsung Galaxy Rugby Pro and attemted to make the vehicle a hot spot or any type of Internet Data Connection and after an hour finalled called Sync support.

They told me that they are having an issue with all Lincoln MKZs with all smartphones.

I'm surprised that no one else here has posted this type of problem and would love to hear if someone has this working

BTW the Samsung is an 'Android" type OS, if that makes any difference.

What say yo'all??
My Brother is a Mechanic for Ford and i asked him if they were in fact having issues with the MKZ as a hot spot, he said no, but did add the biggest issue he does see with Sync is customers inability to pair their phone directly.

Have you gone to the dealer and had a mechanic sit with you to set up your phone? I would highly suggest this, not some stuffy sales men, they aare completely ignorant. Ask for a tech to have a look at your Syna, it will take them 5 minutes and is much more rewarding than watching a salesman fumble his way through

good luck
zep is offline  
 
post #4 of 34 (permalink) Old 11-01-2013, 02:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I think Androids in general have difficulties pairing with your phone. You were trying to connect your phone to the wifi being offered by the car?
golfball is offline  
post #5 of 34 (permalink) Old 11-01-2013, 03:59 PM
zep
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by golfball View Post
I think Androids in general have difficulties pairing with your phone. You were trying to connect your phone to the wifi being offered by the car?
I took it as he was trying to use his Androids Data to set up MKZ as am obile hotspot...
zep is offline  
post #6 of 34 (permalink) Old 11-01-2013, 04:03 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
R2D2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Palm Coast FL
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by zep View Post
My Brother is a Mechanic for Ford and i asked him if they were in fact having issues with the MKZ as a hot spot, he said no, but did add the biggest issue he does see with Sync is customers inability to pair their phone directly.

Have you gone to the dealer and had a mechanic sit with you to set up your phone? I would highly suggest this, not some stuffy sales men, they aare completely ignorant. Ask for a tech to have a look at your Syna, it will take them 5 minutes and is much more rewarding than watching a salesman fumble his way through

good luck
I have not yet been to the dealer on this but will next week. The sync with the phone is fine and the Bluetooth conmection seems to work flawlessly.

Like I said, this according to sync tech support

R2D2

Beep-op-whir-boop-weeee
R2D2 is offline  
post #7 of 34 (permalink) Old 11-01-2013, 04:08 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
R2D2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Palm Coast FL
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by zep View Post
I took it as he was trying to use his Androids Data to set up MKZ as am obile hotspot...
Quote:
Originally Posted by golfball View Post
I think Androids in general have difficulties pairing with your phone. You were trying to connect your phone to the wifi being offered by the car?
Zep ... you got it right

R2D2

Beep-op-whir-boop-weeee
R2D2 is offline  
post #8 of 34 (permalink) Old 11-04-2013, 02:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
why not just use your phone as a mobile hotspot?
MKZFan likes this.
golfball is offline  
post #9 of 34 (permalink) Old 11-04-2013, 02:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by golfball View Post
why not just use your phone as a mobile hotspot?
thats the best thing to do, most new smartphones allow it and almost everyone has a smartphone capable of this.
MKZFan is offline  
post #10 of 34 (permalink) Old 11-04-2013, 04:03 PM
zep
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by golfball View Post
why not just use your phone as a mobile hotspot?
because MKZ has in car apps...

yea R2 would definitely recommend having a quick sit down with a Ford Tech. Although i saw in your intro post your dealer is 40 minutes away so i get that it is inconvenient.
zep is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome